AusCycling | AusCycling in Tasmania heats up with BMX & Criterium state titles

AusCycling in Tasmania heats up with BMX & Criterium state titles


In the first weekend of AusCycling, Tasmania hosted two important state events with the State Criterium Championships taking place in Hobart and the BMX Tasmania State Titles hosted by Launceston BMX Club.

Shellie Wakefield of AusCycling Tasmania praised both events for putting on successful competitions,

"It was an actioned packed week with the State Criterium and BMX Championships held on the first weekend since we launched AusCycling - Tasmania on the November 1. We saw some great competition across both disciplines, and we thank our cycling communities who come together to deliver two wonderful championship events."

The State Criterium Championships was hosted by the Hobart Wheelers at Tolosa Park, which saw 42 riders compete on the closed circuit. In a trio sprint finish, Kaine Kannan claimed the win from Sam Fox and Nathan Earle to become the Men's Elite Champion for 2020 while Jessie Sawyer for the Women's Elite from Suzanne Strates.

Click on the link below for the full results,


The 2020 BMX Tasmanian State Titles were held over 3 days at the Launceston BMX Club which saw over 70 riders competing on each day of the championship event.

After racing, presentations of awards were held.

Special awards were presented to:

  • Ruby Smith, Southern City BMX Club - President's Award
  • Campbell Whitney, Launceston BMX Club - Rider of the Event
  • Rose-Ann Emmerton, Wynyard BMX Club - Hard Luck Award
  • Chase Williams, Wynyard BMX Club - The Rogers Family Encouragement Award
  • Launceston BMX Club - Best Club Performance

Click on the link to view the results from the BMX Championships

If you want a full report of the state championships, click the link below


Meet Ride Nation

Stay up to date

Our free newsletters provide the latest cycling news and events direct to your inbox

Subscribe Now!
Santini | Fit. Performance. Comfort. Durability.
Principal Partners
Sport AusAIS
Major Partners
Santini SMSScience in Sport
Broadcast Partners
Fox SportsSBS
Sports Partners
UCIOlympicsCommonwealth GamesParalympics AustraliaWollongong 2022
Our Sponsors