National Club Esports Series: eRANDWICK up to 3rd after MTB round


Vikings Cycling Club has maintained its lead in the National Club Esports Series while eRANDWICK has climbed back onto the podium after a brutal Round 5.

The latest Zwift event on Wednesday was a 27km mountain bike race along the ‘Serpentine 8’ course, featuring two interminable dirt climbs.

The course proved highly selective. Thanks to the hills and high rolling resistance, riders were split into small bunches across the course. The largest lead group in any grade consisted of only 21 riders, as most races ended in a sprint between a handful of competitors.

Having slid off the podium in Round 2, eRANDWICK moved back up to third place ahead of Waratah Masters Cycling Club by just 39 points. The club’s resurgence stemmed from strong results from the likes of Chris Ling, Nicholas Johns, Rob Hacker and Andrew Hughes in the men’s categories, and Marjan McGarry and Holly Cogle on the women’s side.

Thanks to its consistent overall participation, especially in the women’s races, Vikings CC extended its lead even though second-placed Canberra Cycling Club won three grades. Liam O’Dea (B Grade Men), Nathan Schubert (D Grade Men) and Margaux Jacquet (B Grade Women) each took maximum points for Canberra on the dusty roads.

With a lead of 311 points, Vikings CC’s overall victory seems all but assured, while Canberra has the silver medal position on lock. However, the fight for the podium will go all the way to the finish with eRANDWICK, Waratah Masters and Bathurst CC still in the hunt.

Next week’s final round will see racers take on a three-lap kermesse on the Champs-Élysées in Paris.

AusCycling National Club Esports Series
Overall standings after Round 5

  1. Vikings Cycling Club 1542
  2. Canberra Cycling Club 1231
  3. eRANDWICK 1083
  4. Waratah Masters Cycling Club 1044
  5. Bathurst Cycling Club 1007
  6. Hawthorn Cycling Club 757
  7. BrunZwick 742
  8. Parklife Cycling Club 686
  9. Dulwich Hill Bicycle Club 645
  10. Jindabyne Cycling Club 593
  11. Port Adelaide Cycling Club 527
  12. St George Cycling 454
  13. Sydney Cycling Club 452
  14. Mornington Cycling Club 420
  15. Sydney Uni Velo Club 402
  16. St Kilda Cycling Club 393
  17. Coburg Cycling Club 382
  18. Gold Coast Cycling Club 366
  19. Dubbo Cycling Club 330
  20. Northern Cycling Inc 306
  21. Southern Cross Cycling Club 287
  22. Knox BMX Club 255
  23. Blackburn Cycling Club 195
  24. University of Queensland Cycling Club 185
  25. Balmoral Cycling Club 160
  26. Geelong Mountain Bike Club 156
  27. Carnegie Caulfield Cycling Club 136
  28. Parramatta Cycling Club 113
  29. Hunter Virtual Racing 107
  30. Sydney BMX Club 97
  31. Warrandyte MTB Club 91
  32. Birrarung Cycling Club 90
  33. Marconi Cycling Club 66
  34. Norwood Cycling Club 51
  35. Italo Australian Cycling Club 46
  36. Sutherland Shire Cycle Club 44
  37. Ipswich Cycling Club 34
  38. Sunshine Coast Cycling Club 32
  39. Camden Cycling Club 29
  40. Morten Bay Cycling Club 27
  41. Whyalla Cycling Club 27
  42. Nambucca Valley Cycling Club 25
  43. Mudgee Cycling Club 24
  44. Hobart Wheelers 20
  45. Orange Cycle Club 10

For full results, visit the National Club Esports Series results page.

AusBike Square Ad

Stay up to date

Our free newsletters provide the latest cycling news and events direct to your inbox

Subscribe Now!
AusBike ad
Major Partners
ShimanoARA GroupSantiniGWM