AusCycling | Racing As Number One

Racing As Number One


Rebecca McConnell (Primaflor Mondraker Genuins) will head into the Albstadt round of the UCI MTB Mercedes Benz World Cup as the top ranked rider in the world.

McConnell will wear the overall leader's jersey for the XCC and XCO in the Elite Women’s race after claiming her first ever Elite World Cup win in the opening round in Brazil a month ago.

Rebecca McConnell

The Australian champion has had two top 10 finishes at the German venue in the past few years but yet to make the podium.

One Aussie who has stood on the top step at the venue is Dan McConnell back in 2013, and he will line up for his first World Cup race after missing the opener in Brazil.

It will also be the first time at a World Cup for the Australian MTB European team, who have already competed in two UCI Junior World Series races.

The technicality of Albstadt's 4km track is relatively low compared to some of the later rounds

The race starts on the town streets and then heads up into the neighbouring forest before it rolls back into town again on the start/finish straight. The course has two standout steep and long climbs, and races here are always exciting right up to the last few metres, which often feature nail-biting sprint finishes.

Australian Riders

Elite Women – Rebecca McConnell

Elite Men - Dan McConnell, Cameron Ivory

U23 Men - Sam Fox, Tom Cheesman, Dominic Paolilli, Isaac Fletcher

U23 Women - Zoe Cuthbert, Holly Lubcke, Katherine Hosking, Izzy Flint

U19 Women - Hayley Oakes

U19 Men - Cohen Jessen, Jack Ward, Joel Dodds, Owen Fletcher, Riley Corke, Ethan Weiss

Viewing Times on RedBull TV

XCC Elite from 1:20am Saturday 7th May

XCO Elite Women 7pm Sunday 8th May

XCO Elite Men 10:15pm Sunday 8th May

Live Timing

Stay up to date

Our free newsletters provide the latest cycling news and events direct to your inbox

Subscribe Now!
Principal Partners
Sport AusAIS
Major Partners
SantiniScience in SportComwireIT
Broadcast Partners
Fox SportsSBS
Sports Partners
UCIAustralian Olympic CommitteeCommonwealth GamesParalympics AustraliaOceania Cycling ConfederationWollongong 2022
Our Sponsors