AusCycling | Get Involved – AusCycling's Junior Virtual Camp

Get Involved – AusCycling's Junior Virtual Camp

LogoLogoNAT

In a year that has affected many participation opportunities due to COVID-19, AusCycling is pleased to announce an exciting opportunity for junior riders to participate in and learn via a Virtual Camp on October 9 and 10.

The Virtual Camp, aimed at riders between ages 13-16, aims to re-connect our cycling community by presenting quality educational cycling content by experts in their field and creating an environment to learn and develop.

In these uncertain times, with many dealing with lockdown and isolation, changes in the way we communicate, plus radical changes to training programs and racing calendars, the camp is an opportunity for riders and parents to connect.

The camp will be hosted by former professional Scott McGrory and will feature presentations from athletes and staff a part of the Australian Cycling Team as well as other special guests.

Please note you must register for each day using the link below. In addition, all participants must have access to Zoom.

Register: Click Here


Schedule

Saturday October 9

Time

Subject

11:00 am – 12:00 pm (ADST): VIC, NSW, TAS, ACT

10:00 am – 11:00 am (AEST): QLD

10:30 am - 11:30 am (ACDT): SA

9:30 am – 10:30 am (ACST): NT

8:00 am – 9:00 am (AWST): WA

Topic: Bike maintenance

Presenter: Jade Lean - Mechanic with the Australian Cycling Team

Jade's role at Auscycling is maintaining and preparing the athletes track bikes in the training environment at the Adelaide Superdrome and also at National and International Racing events. Most recently, Jade was the lead mechanic at the Tokyo Olympics for the Australian Track Team.

Tune in to hear his tips and tricks about

  • Best bike cleaning practice.
  • Cleaning chain and lubricating. (explain chain waxing)
  • Using a torque wrench and pattern for tightening bolts.
  • Checking rear derailleur hanger and straightening.
  • Removing and fitting tyre and tube by hand.

12:00 pm – 1:00 pm (ADST): VIC, NSW, TAS, ACT

11:00 am – 10:00 am (AEST): QLD

11:30 am - 12:30 pm (ACDT): SA

10:30 am – 11:30 am (ACST): NT

9:00 am – 10:00 am (AWST): WA

Topic: Resilience in Sport

Presenter: Lance Picioane from Love Me Love You

Love Me Love You is a non-profit organisation that strives to empower and build resilience in young adults so that they may overcome the stigma surrounding mental health and other life hardships.

As part of this journey session, we will work through the steps of Awareness, Acknowledge & Action. Understanding the wellbeing framework that will keep us bouncing through the challenges of life and sport.

What to bring: Please print the documents below

Resilience.pdf

My Mental Health Strategy.pdf

Self Care.pdf

Taking Care of Yourself.pdf

1:00 pm – 2:00 pm (ADST): VIC, NSW, TAS, ACT

12:00 pm – 1:00 pm (AEST): QLD

12:30 pm - 1:30 pm (ACDT): SA

11:30 am – 12:30 pm (ACST): NT

10:00 am – 11:00 am (AWST): WA

Topic: Core Strength

Presenter: Noeleen from Pilates in Sport

Pilates For Sports is an Australian business delivering online Pilates programs to athletes around the world. Their mission is to help every person move with greater ease and confidence, so they can achieve their best in the sport they love and the life they choose.

Join Principal Instructor, Noeleen, for a Pilates training session that will focus on strength and conditioning specifically for cyclists.

What to bring: Yoga mat, towel and a cushion


Sunday October 10

Time

Subject

11:00 am – 12:00 pm (ADST): VIC, NSW, TAS, ACT

10:00 am – 11:00 am (AEST): QLD

10:30 am - 11:30 am (ACDT): SA

9:30 am – 10:30 am (ACST): NT

8:00 am – 9:00 am (AWST): WA

Topic: A Riders Journey

Scott McGrory will host a question and answer session with a handful of professional riders including Saya Sakakibara, Ruby Gannon and Zoe Cuthbert.

12:00 pm – 1:00 pm (ADST): VIC, NSW, TAS, ACT

10:00 am – 11:00 am (AEST): QLD

11:30 am - 12:30 pm (ACDT): SA

10:30 am – 11:30 am (ACST): NT

9:00 am – 10:00 am (AWST): WA

Topic: Sports Nutrition

Presenter: Kerry King

Dr Kerry King graduated from Victoria University as an Osteopath in 2012 and in 2016, Kerry began to pursue her love for performance sport and adapted her knowledge towards cycling coaching. She now spends much of her time helping cyclists to achieve their goals with a progressive but holistic approach.

1:00 pm – 1:30 pm (ADST): VIC, NSW, TAS, ACT

12:00 pm – 12:30 pm (AEST): QLD

12:30 pm - 1:00 pm (ACDT): SA

11:30 am – 12:00 pm (ACST): NT

10:00 am – 10:30 am (AWST): WA

Topic: Athlete Categorisation

Presenter:

Donna Rae‑Szalinski OAM with the Australian Cycling Team

Athlete Categorisation is a process used to identify, track and prioritise athletes at each stage of the AusCycling Performance Pathway, to support Australia consistently winning medals at major international events.

This discussion will provide information on how and when the categorisation process is implemented across all disciplines of cycling.

Northwave

Stay up to date

Our free newsletters provide the latest cycling news and events direct to your inbox

Subscribe Now!
Morgan Blue
Principal Partners
Sport AusAIS
Major Partners
Santini SMSScience in Sport
Broadcast Partners
Fox SportsSBS
Sports Partners
UCIAustralian Olympic CommitteeCommonwealth GamesParalympics AustraliaWollongong 2022
Our Sponsors